The Advocate’s Role in the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse

The Advocate's Role in the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse training is intended to fulfill the 24.0 hours of core training for victim advocates required in the 2023 National Children's Alliance Standards for Accredited Members. This training covers the nine competencies set forth in those standards and will include evaluation of an increase in skills and knowledge in those attending the training. There is no cost to participate in this training.

Target Audience

This training is appropriate for advocates with less than five (5) years of experience who take part in providing the constellation of services to children served by a children's advocacy center (CAC) across the country. This includes victim advocates employed by the CAC, working at a partnering District Attorney's office, and/or staff of a community-based organization.

Facilitators
  • Sara Lee, MS, Program Manager - MRCAC
  • Michele Mullen, LCSW, Training Specialist - NRCAC
  • Christina Rouse, Training Integration Specialist - SRCAC
  • Salli Kerr, Training Specialist - WRCAC
This training will enable participants to
  • Demonstrate an increased knowledge of the unique role of victim advocates in responding to the needs of children and families
  • Understand strategies to engage and empower supportive caregivers in their own healing and support of child maltreatment/abuse victims
  • Increase understanding of multi-disciplinary team dynamics and implications for victim advocates as integral and active team members
Schedule

This course includes four 5-hour sessions of live instruction via Zoom and approximately 4 hours of independent pre/post work to complete 24.0 hours total of instruction. This training will be offered four (4) times annually with different start times due to the national audience and different time zones. Applications will open one at a time. Please see upcoming trainings scheduled for 2022-2023 below.

***Trainings for December 2022 and beyond are contingent upon continued federal funding from OJJDP.***


Cohort #8 | Applications closed
Sessions will occur Wednesday and Thursday: 9:00am - 3:00pm PT | 10:00am - 4:00pm MT | 11:00am - 5:00pm CT | 12:00pm - 6:00pm ET

  • Session 1: December 7, 2022
  • Session 2: December 8, 2022
  • Session 3: December 14, 2022
  • Session 4: December 15, 2022


Cohort #9 | Applications will open January 2023
Sessions will occur Wednesday and Thursday: 7:00am - 1:00pm PT | 8:00am - 2:00pm MT | 9:00am - 3:00pm CT | 10:00am - 4:00pm ET

  • Session 1: February 22, 2023
  • Session 2: February 23, 2023
  • Session 3: March 1, 2023
  • Session 4: March 2, 2023


Cohort #10 | Applications will open May 2023

Sessions will occur Wednesday and Thursday: 9:00am - 3:00pm PT | 10:00am - 4:00pm MT | 11:00am - 5:00pm CT | 12:00pm - 6:00pm ET

  • Session 1: June 21, 2023
  • Session 2: June 22, 2023
  • Session 3: June 28, 2023
  • Session 4: June 29, 2023


Cohort #11 | Applications will open August 2023
Sessions will occur Wednesday and Thursday: 7:00am - 1:00pm PT | 8:00am - 2:00pm MT | 9:00am - 3:00pm CT | 10:00am - 4:00pm ET

  • Session 1: September 13, 2023
  • Session 2: September 14, 2023
  • Session 3: September 20, 2023
  • Session 4: September 21, 2023

 

Sign up for your regional children's advocacy center's mailing list to be notified when applications open

 

Questions?

Contact your regional children’s advocacy center’s representative in your region:

Scroll to top